The CURE for Your Vocation

Follow current students and alums on the McCormick blog, The "Cure" for Your Vocation.

We have fun, too.

We're not all reading, writing, and study. We have fun, too! 

2010 Theses and Award Winners


Masters-level Theses

  • Subverting Racism in Interfaith Dialogue: The Work of the Council for a Parliament of the World’s Religions by Honna M. Eichler
  • Dinka Concept of Peace as a Contribution to Muslim-Christian Coexistence in Sudan by Emmanuel Tongun Mathew Gore

Doctor of Ministry Theses

  • Authenticity and Relevance in a Postmodern Context: A Conversation Between the Black Church and the Emerging Church by Alise Donyelle Barrymore
  • Number One: The Associate Pastor’s Charge to Preach by Alan Dixon Dorway       
  • Increasing the Space: The Journey to Become a Multiracial Congregation by Michael J. Jones
  • Pentecostal Leadership: The Development of Pentecostal Pastoral Leadership in the New South African Context by Amos Golo Mokopi
  • The Long Journey to Home: Preaching to Rebuild Trust in the Aftermath of Clergy Betrayal by M.J. Romano
  • Overcoming Racism against Arab Americans: An Educational Program in Search of Reconciliation by Jonah Joshua Salim
  • Re-Kindling the Fire: Renewing Hope for Congregational Vitality by David Alan Torrey    


Recipients of Fellowships, Awards, and Prizes 2009-2010

  • Bernadine Orme Smith Fellowship:    Linda Mary Eastwood (Alternate:  Adam Malak)
  • John V. Farwell Fellowship in Theology and Ethics:    Linda Mary Eastwood
  • Arthur A. Hayes Fellowship in Church History:    Jeffrey T. Foels
  • T. B. Blackstone Fellowship in New Testament Greek:    Matthew John Helms
  • Nettie McCormick Fellowship in Old Testament Hebrew:    Michael Steven Plank
  • George Tressler Scott Fellowship in Applied Christianity:    Juhyun Jang and Casey Elizabeth Thornburgh
  • John Randall Hunt Prizes for Outstanding D.Min. Thesis and Academic Record:   Alise Donyelle Barrymore and M. J. Romano
  • Nettie F. McCormick Award in Old Testament:    Arianne Lehn
  • Isabella Blackstone Award in New Testament:    Mary Carlin   
  • Isabella Blackstone Award in Church History:     Rosa Sailes
  • Henry P. Crowell Award in Systematic Theology:    Honna Eichler
  • Floyd V. Filson Prizes in New Testament:  Michelle Henrichs and Alexander Wirth
  • Hugh McBirney Awards in English Bible:    Amber Ellington and Lora Lynne Burge
  • Samuel Robinson Awards in Shorter Catechism:    Katie Anderson, Linda Eastwood, Kate Ester and Sarah Ross
  • Arthur R. McKay Prize in Theology:    Casey Elizabeth Thornburgh
  • Marshall Scott Urban /Labor Ministry Award:    Jerome Anthony Adams and Gloria D. Cox
  • Ellen and James Taylor Award in Preaching:    Veronica Johnson and Jeffrey T. Foels
  • Jesse Halsey Award for Imagination in Preaching:    Kimberlee Michelle Frost   
  • Martin D. Kneeland Award for Sermon Delivery:  Jody Schultz Noble
  • James W. Angell Award for Preaching with the Congregation:   Linda Mary Eastwood
  • Robert and Jean Boling Memorial Fund for International Travel and Study:   Emmanuel Tongun Mathew Gore and Linda Mary Eastwood