Cross-Cultural, Urban, Reformed, Ecumenical

Institutional Partnerships

The Association of Chicago Theological Schools

The Association of Chicago Theological Schools (ACTS) consists of eleven theological seminaries: Catholic Theological Union, Chicago Theological Seminary, Garrett-Evangelical Theological Seminary, Lutheran School of Theology at Chicago, McCormick Theological Seminary, Meadville/Lombard Theological School, Mundelein Seminary, North Park Theological Seminary, Northern Baptist Theological Seminary, Seabury-Western Theological Seminary, and Trinity Evangelical Divinity School. ACTS publishes an internet catalog ( that contains a comprehensive listing of all courses being offered by the member schools. Masters level students in the ACTS schools can cross-register among the eleven schools.

Urban Clinical Pastoral Education Program

McCormick Theological Seminary is one of a number of institutions that participates in the Urban CPE Program. Accredited by the Association for Clinical Pastoral Education, the program offers a non-traditional CPE experience with focus on church and community. It brings together the CPE methodology of integration of personal and professional identity with the practice of ministry in urban agencies, parishes, and community organizations.

The Hyde Park Cluster of Theological Schools

The five ACTS schools located in Hyde Park (Catholic Theological Union, Chicago Theological Seminary, Lutheran School of Theology at Chicago, McCormick Theological Seminary, and Meadville/Lombard Theological School) and the Divinity School of the University of Chicago constitute the Hyde Park Cluster of Theological Schools. The chief academic officers of each school form the planning, coordinating and decision-making body for the cluster. The Cluster seeks to: (1) promote cooperation among the academic programs of its member institutions; (2) create and promote joint programs of particular interest to these schools which optimize faculty and other resources to meet particular needs of church mission and ministry; (3) foster cooperation and scholarship among its faculties in both disciplinary groups and interdisciplinary endeavors; and (4) aid in communication and planning among the member institutions.

The University of Chicago

McCormick maintains several cooperative relationships with the University of Chicago through dual competency programs. Through the University of Chicago Divinity School, McCormick students may take a limited number of courses for Seminary credit at reduced tuition rates. McCormick students have access to the Regenstein Library, the main University research library, Crerar and Harper libraries, the University health and athletic facilities, the University bus service, and numerous cultural and educational events.

Hispanic Summer Program

McCormick Theological Seminary is a co-sponsor of the Hispanic Summer Program, an academic program of 32 seminaries. The program is widely ecumenical and representative of the varieties of Latino/a experience and background and the supporting schools. An accredited ATS-related school hosts each session. Courses cover a wide range of the theological curriculum and are taught with emphasis on the Latino/a church. The Hispanic Summer Program sessions are for two weeks, during which time students may take one course for one unit of credit. Additional information and applications for registration are available in the Center for the Study of Latino/a Theology and Ministry.