Joan B. Malick Scholarships Awarded

07-31-2012 by

M. Edwards
The 2012 recipients of the Joan B. Malick Seminary Scholarship are...

Rising third-year McCormick (MTS) students Deanna Drake, Eun Joo (Angela) Ryo, and Maureen Murtaugh Wilson. 

Rev. Dr. Malick is a familiar name and face within the McCormick community. She is currently a member of the Board of Trustees where she serves on the Property & Facilities, Nominations & Trusteeship Committees, and the Audit Subcommittee. Dr. Malick is also an alumna who received her Master of Divinity degree in 1978.           

Mary Woolling, a member of the original scholarship design team says the fund was established because “Second Presbyterian Church (of Indiana) wanted to honor Joan for twenty years of devoted ministry. She was an outstanding and remarkable minister who served us from August 1988 to August 2008.”

Nine one-year scholarships have been given since 2009. Award recipients are ministerial students at MTS and/or those under the care of Second Presbyterian Church who attend other seminaries.  Scholarships are based upon merit and need. When possible, women candidates are selected.

Woolling further noted that the selection process begins anew each spring as the Malick Seminary Scholarship Committee works collaboratively with the Presbyterian Women’s Coordinating Team to look for candidates who have “Joan-worthy” characteristics which include: deep and abiding faith; great intelligence and excellent education; compassion for others; strong organizational and leadership skills; high energy and creativity; love of the Lord; love of learning; and love of life.

Once awardees are selected, they are invited to attend the Presbyterian Women’s Annual Praise Luncheon Gathering where they meet and sit with Rev. Malick, receive additional information about her, the scholarship fund and a compact disc of her most outstanding sermons. The names of scholarship recipients are placed on a plaque which is prominently placed in a position of honor within the church for all to view.

MTS President Frank Yamada says, “McCormick has long been a leader in supporting the leadership of women in congregations. Rev. Dr. Joan Malick is a trustee who continues to lead the way in this regard through the Joan B. Malick Seminary Scholarship Fund."